Initial commit
This commit is contained in:
35
customcd/files/root/rescuebru/rescuebru-help/backup.txt
Normal file
35
customcd/files/root/rescuebru/rescuebru-help/backup.txt
Normal file
@@ -0,0 +1,35 @@
|
||||
|
||||
Option 2 of the RescueBRU main menu (Do a backup) allows backups to
|
||||
be performed. It first attempts to mount the particular backup media
|
||||
you selected, and then asks you to choose an image name from a list
|
||||
or supply a new name for the backup. This name will become the name
|
||||
of the directory on the NFS server or USB drive where the backup
|
||||
images are stored. It should be short, but descriptive. It cannot
|
||||
contain spaces or special characters. For example, "SJ#4 Display PC
|
||||
3 (Pilot/ WSO UFCs)" would not be accepted. A better alternative
|
||||
would be "sj4disppc3". After you supply a name for the backup, a
|
||||
directory is created on the backup media to store the images.
|
||||
|
||||
RescueBRU then probes the hard drives and generates a list of drives
|
||||
and their partitions. Because you may not always want to back up all
|
||||
partitions of all drives, RescueBRU prompts you whether or not to
|
||||
back up each MBR and each partition. Select what you want with the
|
||||
spacebar. After choosing MBRs and partitions, you will be prompted
|
||||
to confirm the options. Once you have selected Ok and confirmed, the
|
||||
master boot records and the partitions you chose are backed up.
|
||||
|
||||
An important note about the dd method:
|
||||
When selecting drives and partitions to be backed up using this
|
||||
method, be aware that dd backs up the entire drive (/dev/sda
|
||||
for example) not just the MBR like the other methods. This means
|
||||
that if you select a drive (/dev/sda) you should probably not select
|
||||
any of the drive's partitions, since the data contained on them is
|
||||
already in the backup of the drive itself. Selecting the drive and
|
||||
its partitions will make the backup take a long, long time and be
|
||||
ludicrously huge. However, RescueBRU never assumes it knows more
|
||||
than you and will happily oblige if you tell it to.
|
||||
|
||||
When the backup is complete, the backup media is unmounted and you
|
||||
are returned to the main menu. From here you can perform other
|
||||
operations or exit RescueBRU.
|
||||
|
||||
Reference in New Issue
Block a user